MARCH 27 2011:Fresh Eucalyptus fills the air, a Kookaburra calls somewhere, The lazy days go drifting by and here we are, just you and I.

http://www.poetryaustralia.com/home/index.php?page=national-poem-of-the-month

DSCF4105

That’s what I am aspiring to. Lazy days. Drifting by. It hasn’t been like that so much this Summer. I have been back in the Bellingen Shire for 12 months. I surely have had a lot of kookaburras and still do and this morning when I was parking at Raleigh Hall, I could smell the eucalyptus as clear as. Once I went out with a eucalyptus cutter. That was way back in 1970. I won’t put his name here but he drove a Blue Holden Monaro and it was quite an introduction to country life for a city girl. I was sent there fresh from Balmain Teachers’ College to a two teacher school in the bush. Wild Country it was. Down near TUMBARUMBA.

Fresh Eucalyptus fills the air,

a Kookaburra calls somewhere,

The lazy days go drifting by

and here we are,

just you and I.

One thought on “MARCH 27 2011:Fresh Eucalyptus fills the air, a Kookaburra calls somewhere, The lazy days go drifting by and here we are, just you and I.”

Leave a Reply

