APRIL 7 2011 : Day No 97 of 2011 : SITTING.

 

081

Among the rippling waters he sits without a move,—

It is Kantjia himself who is sitting without a move.

Moveless like a boulder he is sitting;

His hair bedewed with rain he is sitting.

On the fissured rock-plates he is sitting;

On rock-plates welling with water he is sitting.

Bedrizzled with rain he sits without a move.

Western Arrernte song recorded and translated by T.G.H. Strehlow.

Its night time now. Taking my seat on the e-Bench to Yaan about the day. I am ready for a bit more sitting. I am a definite Sitter. My favourite quote bears repeating. Its my mantra. Lois W speaking of her man, Bill W :

Bill never ran when he could walk. Walk when he could sit. Sit when he could lie down “

It’s a comfort to me that one. I find passion in sitting still. I think great things can happen in Stillness. 2011 is rushing around with me in its tailwind and I am not getting a lot of sitting in. I wonder how great the contribution of the Sitter has been to the World over the years. Bill W was a co-founder of Alcoholics Anonymous and played a part in the sobriety of millions of people. That’s not bad. Buddha seems to have SAT – a LOT. I hear tell the Findhorn Elders are sitting there on the edge of Far Northern Scotland and spreading powerful energy throughout the world. Perhaps, Sitting re-directs energies which would otherwise jumped on their horses and galloped off in all directions. Might take a Google Look and see what I can find.

SITTING MEDITATION is a big one of course.

I hadn’t thought of the possibilities of the SITTING CUSHION.

Consider also the SITTING SWING.

And for me, I like the KITCHEN TABLE WISDOM. Another SITTING Process. 

 

 

Well, I didn’t think of CHIEF SITTING BULL .

He might have met a sad end but he is said to have sp0ken some wise words. e.g.

“If the Great Spirit had desired me to be a white man he would have made me so in the first place. He put in your heart certain wishes and plans, and in my heart he put other and different desires. It is not necessary for eagles to be crows.”

Wisdom is glorious, and never fadeth away: yea, she is easily seen of them that love her, and found of such as seek her.

She preventeth them that desire her, in making herself first known unto them.

Whoso seeketh her early shall have no great travail: for he shall find her sitting at his doors.

A GALLERY OF FAMOUS SITTERS

MORE FAMOUS SITTERS

AND OTHER SITTERS OF THE POSED VARIETY.

 

Leave a Reply

