APRIL 26 2011: A fisherman sees a fisherman from afar. Russian.

“Rybak rybaka vidit izdaleka”

 

LIKE CALLS TO LIKE.

lynne dad fish

Good Morning to you all from the eBench. It’s a wet day. Soggy and chilly. I was once a fisherperson. I was a fisherperson for many years, in fact. Till the day that the silver bream on South Arm looked into my eyes. Haven’t really fished since then. The image on the right shows my Dad and me in the early 1950s with a schnapper we caught.

I have fished Eucumbene and on the Utiekah III. I have fished Brigalow and 4Mile Beach. And I have fished Botany Bay and Sydney Harbour. Most of all, I have fished the Bellinger and the Kalang Rivers but now I don’t fish.

219120_168918639828750_125571377496810_355472_4016762_o

These are not real Fishermen.

They called themselves that when they were a band in the early 1970s but they were NOT real FISHERMEN.

LIKE CALLS TO LIKE.

MERMAIDS

A FISHERMAN SEES A FISHERMAN FROM AFAR.

I recognise other addicts. No drugs involved. I can smell them a mile off and they can smell me even with my white hair and straight life.

I have watched Izzy with other musicians and they are the same. They can see one another from afar.

Bikers are the same. Some of it is to do with secret signs and language involved but I don’t think that’s the whole story.

A FELLOW TRAVELLER WILL ALWAYS RECOGNISE ANOTHER. Izzy passes that comment to me as we sit here Yaaning. My friend, RQ, speaks of Other Places and Other Kinds.  So I sit here this morning, watching the rain. Listening to it. Seeing the water come up in the Front paddock round the ankles of Leo, the new horse and I locate myself amongst my own Kind. I am going out now to see whether Café is on at Bundagen Community. More Yaaning when I come back.

BUNDAGEN

  OUR COMMUNITY

Bundagen is an intentional community established in August 1981 with three guiding principles: social harmony; environmental responsibility; and economic independence. We are a rural land sharing co-operative and wildlife sanctuary. We see our community as having essentially a caretaker role for this piece of coastal land and aim to create only low impact development. Regeneration of native vegetation in environmentally fragile areas is a focus, as is an emphasis on organic gardening.

 

BACK ON THE eBENCH at night. Day done. Seemed to turn pretty busy after all. And I saw a Fisherman – from afar – but he didn’t see me.

122

A WORD TO THE WISE – NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE STORYTELLER.

 

One thought on “APRIL 26 2011: A fisherman sees a fisherman from afar. Russian.”

Leave a Reply

