APRIL 29 2011: DAY No 120 OF 2011: Just for Today.

hear-no-evil_thumb3

Taking a seat now after a few phone talks and some due thought. The Kookaburra is on the front fence with Leo, the new horse, standing just behind. This Kookaburra is a right nutter. I think it’s the cross eyed one who slammed into the front windows in full flight in February.

JUST FOR TODAY

I am in practice mode for the May blogging. Since I’ve chosen the Cliché theme, best I work out what I’m doing with that. I have of late been getting indigestion trying to swallow hard to digest lumps of life that I have been seeing on TV or reading on the net. Nothing wrong with Noble Causes and Outrages, I guess – except that I have a personality and character that run wild with it. I either sink into despair, become vicious or run amok. And I get ill, as I have been doing. It also distracts me nicely from my own doings and affairs.

I remember first encountering the concept of JUST FOR TODAY. I was in Rozelle Mental Hospital having lost everything including most functioning sections of my Brain. Or Mind. Who knows which is which and who cares. All I knew was that Insanity was Nigh. The Powerful Intellect with which I had been diagnosed in the 1960s was fried and all the theories  about Life by which I had lived had led me to the bed in the Nuthouse Fishbowl.

I was well aware that I needed to keep my thinking within a very short timespace or lose the plot entirely and perhaps permanently. That’s where I began the discipline of thinking JUST FOR TODAY amongst other tight personal mental regimes. It worked.

So here I am in the 21st Century, a place I wasn’t sure I would reach and in which I have been tempted out into the Wildlands of Thought once more. Nothing very loopy. Just the News and Protesters’ views. They lead to a certainty that the END IS NIGH. Drifting out of the DAY and into the Bigger Picture has led me to such conclusions as :

  • the world WILL end in 2012
  • unless the tsunami or earthquake strikes first
  • Julia Gillard will compel me to retrain for a job in a fish and chips shop
  • in which case my health will fail me
  • and leave me living in a cockroach infested fibro flat
  • which I can barely afford
  • whilst my children and grandchildren dwell on unhappily and poverty stricken
  • but unable to pay for my funeral

The thinking can also escape the confines of the day and take itself back into other times, leading me then to such conclusions as :

    • I should never have chosen to go to teacher’s College in 1968
    • nor married the man I did
    • and probably  I caused some abnormality in my offspring
    • which could have easily been avoided
    • just as I could easily have taken better care of my parents in their dotage
    • except of course that my genetic background of Devon Peasants, Irish Convicts and ousted Scottish Highlanders never really gave me a chance.

Whilst acknowledging that both Past and Future are wonderful worlds to explore, JUST FOR TODAY, I am focussing on the extremely useful concept of exploring the Here and Now.  I shall take a look at the JUST FOR TODAY card and see how I went today. First – a song.

 

JUST FOR TODAY.  

Just for today, I will try to live through this day only at once.

 
001

Pretty much done. This day only. Watching the Royal Wedding having eaten pizza and garlic bread.

And not tackle my whole life problem.  
003

My whole life problem threatened to tackle me head on today so I took a look at the 100 balls in  the baby’s pool and decided to take out only one at a time. There was really not much that needed attending to today. Took a look at cars for sale and houses for rent on the Net. That was about it.

I can do something for twelve hours that would appal me if I felt that I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

 
027

Such as the rainy days. And the lack of money. And the grieving. I was well aware of this statement today.  Just do it for one day. Just get through the day. Sleep through it if necessary.

Just for today, I will be happy. This assumes to be true what Abraham Lincoln said, that “most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.”

 
048

This one stumps me a little. I don’t seem able to make up my mind just to be happy. Or sad. I rather like the saying I once read which said “ only a suffering God will do. “

However, for sanity’s sake, I am making up my mind to be as happy as I can.

Just for today, I will try to strengthen my mind.

Now that sounds a good idea.
056  
I will study.

That’s a really marvellous thing with the Internet. Access to acres of study.

I will learn something useful.

One useful thing which I have learned today is that Surfside Pizza opens at 5pm.  And delivers as far as Bonville and Bellingen.

I will not be a mental loafer.

My mind is the best exercised part of me.

I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration.

David Spangler’s book on manifestation required more thought and effort than I liked and I don’t intend to persevere with it.

Just for today, I will adjust myself to what is, and not try to adjust everything to my own desires.

 
052

Restlessness and a deeply disturbed spirit drove me to looking at this today. I kind of managed to adjust myself to the WHAT IS and to leave the WHAT IF alone somewhat. Even the RAIN.

I will take my “luck” as it comes, and fit myself to it.

 
025

That meant gumboots.

Just for today, I will exercise my soul in three ways:

 

I will do somebody a good turn, and not get found out.

080

I will do at least two things I don’t want to–just for exercise.

006

I will not show anyone that my feelings are hurt; they may be hurt, but today I will not show it.

075

There are 4 more sections of this JUST FOR TODAY CARD. I think I shall attend to those ones tomorrow.  Perhaps I shall  even get out of my pjyama pants. But not today.

020

Just for today, I will have a program. I may not follow it exactly, but I will have it. I will save myself from two pests: hurry and indecision.

004

Just for today, I will have a quiet half hour all by myself, and relax. During this half hour, sometime, I will try to get a better perspective of my life.

023

Just for today, I will be unafraid. Especially I will not be afraid to enjoy what is beautiful, and to believe that as I give to the world, so the world will give to me.

059

Leave a Reply

