2 MAY 2011: DAY No. 122: GOD RULES STRAIGHT LINES WITH CROOKED RULERS.

ebenchHaven’t even reached the eBENCH until 6pm. I was working on the SANDERS OF KINCHELA blog. Pretty much. there’s a batch of us Yaaning about old family ties. I haven’t even met most of them. Maybe I haven’t met any of them but we are doing a good job of reclaiming our mutual histories.

I first heard the saying GOD RULES STRAIGHT LINES WITH CROOKED RULERS when I was living up in Coolangatta in Queensland. It was Big Mark who used it. He told a story about an Outback Trip he was on. Lots of things seemed to go wrong and eventually he was stranded in a one garage town with a bung car. The owner had died and his widow was no longer operating it as a garage. Turned out the very part he needed was stashed out in the old workshop and the widow was happy to give it to him dirt cheap as well as use of the garage.

The trip then led him to something he would not otherwise have come to. I don’t recall what it was because my mind had drifted off into my own life. What it did do was remind me that I have no idea where a seeming sideroad or diversion is leading me.

Brings to mind the much over used and frequently embellished story of the white horse.  When Bob Earle told this story, he used the expression – “Could be good. Could be bad”.

One Christian page I just found tells the story of the MONK WHO STOLE THE COW.

For me, sitting here in the dark of an Autumn Night, I just take it to mean that I do not know everything. I don’t know why I am here in this cottage. I don’t know anything much past this moment. And I can’t be too sure of the details of it either. That’s why I put up the video about BEYOND THE BLUE HORIZON. Someplace  beyond the horizons I can see now is the next thing. Someplace round the next crooked corner is something I am not expecting.

Maybe tomorrow I will have lunch at Bundagen again.

I might just make a short list of things which don’t seem to be leading anyplace much for me just now and I shall check back in a month or so and see what happened with them.

COULD BE GOOD. GOOD BE BAD.

SEEMINGLY INSIGNIFICANT BUT LIKELY TO BE OTHERWISE.

  1. ERIC BIBB CONCERT
  2. LEO THE HORSE
  3. BUNDAGEN LUNCHES
  4. THE OLD BUTTER FACTORY IN BELLINGEN
  5. THE STARWAGON BREAKING DOWN
  6. 3 YEAR CONTRACT AT BOAMBEE EAST
  7. THE MOB IN ARMIDALE
  8. MY 2 NEW FRIENDSHIPS
  9. SHINGLES
  10. THE URUNGA MUSEUM
One thought on “2 MAY 2011: DAY No. 122: GOD RULES STRAIGHT LINES WITH CROOKED RULERS.”

Leave a Reply

