9 MAY 2011 : DAY NO 130 OF 2011 : DON’T FORGET YOUR PAST LEST IT BECOME YOUR FUTURE.

CALCULATING THE DAY OF THE YEAR

hear-no-evil_thumb3

Taking a short eBENCH sitdown this morning. Not much time for a Yaan with visitors coming again. I am wondering what the old brown dog is doing down the bottom of the horse paddock. She doesn’t usually go so far.

I have been looking through the HISTORIC Newspapers for stories of John Curtis and Ann Moran. Meantime, a black chook, a red chook and a scrub turkey are on the front verandah with the cat. I don’t know what they’re all up to today.

DON’T FORGET YOUR PAST LEST IT BECOME YOUR FUTURE.

That saying once held only sinister meaning for me. These days it doesn’t but it is a treasure trove for me. I surely do not want the past of my ancestor who came on the 2nd Fleet.

When the Second fleet landed at Port Jackson it must have been a sickening sight. When the officials boarded the three transports they were confronted with the sight of convicts, most near naked, lying where they were chained. Most were emaciated with a lot dead in their chains or very close to death. The majority of the convicts were unable to speak, walk or even get to their feet. All were degraded, covered in their own body waste, dirt and infested with lice- and all exhibited the savage brutality of beatings or floggings as well as the visible signs of the starvation they had endured.

 

Not that he was the only one. The one I was most interested in today was ANN MORAN. It appears she was an Iriish Rebel and sent out here at the beginning of the 19th Century. That’s where I spent a good part of today – way back there in the Early Colonial World of NEW SOUTH WALES.  I am descended from a considerable amount of Rebellious Ancestry. Thank Goodness.

DON’T FORGET YOUR PAST LEST IT BECOME YOUR FUTURE.

 

 

Leave a comment