EVERY STORY TELLS A PICTURE : DREAMTIME BEACH.

Plenty of home time today so I am spending most of the day sitting here on the eBENCH. One more Photo methinks.

DREAMTIME BEACH AT FINGAL.

000_2394

000_2373000_2383000_2396000_2390

THE YAAN

Up North from here is a beach called DREAMTIME BEACH. I don’t know much about Dreamtime Beach but we found it one day when we were looking for a beach somewhere between Kirra and Pottsville. Its near the smallest lighthouse I have been to. The day we went there, a couple were being married by a celebrant just up off the sand. People do funny things.

The pandanus trees grew thick along the path and the path led past the backs of the houses. I am always yearning in these places for other times when the houses were little beach cottages and ordinary people lived there. Pretty much all of them now are ‘flash’. Done up and converted into some style which leaves me cold. I would like to see the Shacks back. Down at Fingal, there is a She-Oak shack restaurant and here and there an old home survives.

The sand was white the day we went there and very hot. It was a bit of a hike in to the beach. A hike for the little ones and the oldies anyways.  I truly love blazing sun, blistering hot sand under feet, dragging climbs along rainforested paths and the sea on the edge of Queensland.

I have been told stories of death adders which lurk in the sand, short and fat and waiting to attack my ankle and bring me to an immediate but agonising death. Fortunately, I have never seen one and if any have seen me, they have decided against attack. It doesn’t stop me from banging the ground as I walk – in case.

______________________________________________________

DREAMTIME BEACH HOUSE No offence to you, D.H. but I am using you as an example of the houses I don’t like. I wonder whether or not it’s still flourishing. Things seemed to be running down somewhat on the Gold Coast by the time I left in 2009.

FINGAL HEAD AERIAL PHOTOGRAPHS.

Looking Down Dreamtime Beach From Fingal Head

I have left out the link to the GAY CRUISING site and put the WANNA SURF one in instead.

NOTHING LIKE AUSTRALIA

AND IN 1990 – THE GOOD NEWS TIMES.

Scott Rotumah

 

Aboriginal History
There are a number of Aboriginal mythology associated with the Fingal area, including that of Galiwus, a protective supernatural hairy man said to abide in a cave on Fingal Head and a mythological black dog which used to live in the caves on Fingal head, which have now been quarried away. The local Aboriginals are said to believe that when the caves were destroyed the dog became homeless and now roams the area.

Fingal Head is named Pooningbah, place of the echidna, referring to the shape of the basalt outcrop at the top of the headland.. At the northern end of Dreamtime Beach is a massacre site dating from the 1850s. There are shell middens and artefacts providing evidence of long Aboriginal occupation in the area.

 

70 PLUS AND STILL KICKING

Leave a Reply

