1 JULY 2011: WATCHING OVER ME : QUIRKS AND BELLS.

CHRISTINA AND ELIZABETH AT TUMBULGUM. christina bell & elizabeth bell

 

10 Tips on Writing the Living Web

by MARK BERNSTEIN

1. Write for a reason

2. Write often

If you are writing for the Living Web, you must write consistently. You need not write constantly, and you need not write long, but you must write often. One afternoon in grad school, I heard B. F. Skinner remark that fifteen minutes a day, every day, adds up to about book every year, which he suggested was as much writing as anyone should indulge. You don’t need to write much, but you must write, and write often.

TUMBULGUM

Map picture

Great Grandfather John Bell was known always as the Invalid Mr Bell. I have been given stories about the reason for that but I am keeping them to myself for now.

He was most famed for his wife, Granny Bell , who later become known as  a Legend in her own Lifetime.

WRITE OFTEN says Bernstein. I do that. I am also using July to absorb the various advices given about writing BLOGS. I agree with some of it but not with all of it. What I like best is the expression – THE LIVING WEB.  Bet the Bell girls were telling people to write often. Their sister who stayed in Scotland and maybe the lad one of them married in Brisbane. The three girls are said to have ridden their horses across the river to catch the coach further up on the Northern Side – all the way to Brisbane.  That’s the Spirit I need. It must be there in my emotional inheritance someplace.

TUMBULGUM

TUMBULGUM TAVERN

I liked the Tavern. Right on the River. Big outdoor area for kids. Including a playground. Solid old building. One New Year’s Eve when the heat was on us and visitors up from Melbourne, we went to watch the Fireworks at the Tavern. The Bar Staff had purchased them and set them up. Off they went in all directions. They were supposed to go over the river and create a splendid effect like a mini Sydney but they ripped and roared all over the place. It was extremely satisfying.

I found an article about another inn. One in North Tumbulgum. The owner was a McLeod which is also the family name. Check the HERITAGE SITE for details. The Bell name came via James Bell who was a convict. The MACs came as free settlers.

I don’t know the Mcleod connection here.

AT THIS TIME – I DO NOT KNOW.

“HISTORIC INN DESTROYED.” The Sydney Morning Herald(NSW : 1842-1954)

6 Sep 1926

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article16323461

tumb inn The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW  1842-1954), Monday 6 September 1926,

 

Seems to me that there is another Donald Mcleod in North Tumbulgum. Other than the one the researchers have been telling me about. Best I go to bed and tackle these matters when I am fresher. I have obeyed Bernstein’s Step 2 and written often but now there is more reason to stop writing than to go on tonight. I shall return with  less weary eyes tomorrow and see what happened up there  on the Tweed with the Scots.

I will finish with a cyclone story.  When the TV announcers today report with shock and talk of climate change about wee tornadoes that hit towns like Evans Head and Lennox Head and Red Rock, what must be vaguely overheard tales from my childhood whisper ‘ “This has happened before” and “ This is nothing new”. Here’s one from 1893.

Clarence and Richmond Examiner (Grafton, NSW : 1889-1915), Saturday 4 March 1893,

tumbulgum cyclone Clarence and Richmond Examiner (Grafton, NSW  1889-1915), Saturday 4 March 1893,

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article61249367

What does it mean ?

AT THIS TIME – I SIMPLY DO NOT KNOW.

some pics of tumbulgum in the 21st century.

tumbulgumtumbulgum 26 9 05tumbulgum 2

 

Leave a Reply

