5 AUGUST 2011 : ESTAP: JABIRUS AND OTHER BIRDS ON BROKEN DAY 5.

004

This morning there was a jabiru down at our dam. Only happens now and then and I don’t actually know what the pattern is. Today is a Wall Street Collapse type day but I am more interested in the Jabiru and Ice Cream and the Family gathering for a birthday. 

003

At the moment we have the Satin Bower Birds back. I have always taken the Satin Bower Bird to be something truly beautiful but after one season with them – I don’t know. The male is attractive. The females are raucous and bullying. I don’t like them quite as much as some of the other species. 

The wee Wrens are in the yard now and the Lorikeets. There is a kookaburra or two. I haven’t yet seen the Kingfisher that was here last year. Down on the dam are 5 or 6 ducks as well as ibis and egrets and the Jabiru. I won’t write much tonight. I am not the best person to Yaan about birds. My brother in law and my ex husband are much better at it and can imitate the calls. What I know is that I like having them around.

_________________________________________

BROKEN. DAY NO 5.

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/broken

5.

a. Intermittently stopping and starting; discontinuous: a broken cable transmission.

b. Varying abruptly, as in pitch: broken sobs.

c. Spoken with gaps and errors: broken English.

sues birds

I’m settled down now. It’s a dark night and from here, all I see is an odd set of carlights coming west from the Old Highway down along the river. Most of the cars take the sharp turn at the bottom of our drive and then head North along Valery Road. Now and then, a vehicle turns into our network of 5 driveways and comes up on of the drives to one of the houses.  It’s the last night of my looking at the theme of BROKEN, methinks. I like this last aspect of the definition. It might be coming last but to me it seems to be the way I begin to break and the way I complete the breaking. 

Intermittently. In fits and starts. Hiccoughing. Splitting. Spluttering.

I think that something is breaking apart in my own life at the moment.  It stops. It starts again. It splutters.  It splits and aches and my breath catches in my chest. The early signs of Breaking.

As for this weekend, almost everyone I love just might be here.

_____________________________

ME AND THE YAANING BIRDS.

Around and about my Cottage in Raleigh.

032009009004010020white bird052 003059008015011180053156080
One thought on “5 AUGUST 2011 : ESTAP: JABIRUS AND OTHER BIRDS ON BROKEN DAY 5.”

  1. I’ve been watching the congregation of small birds at our bridfeeders these last couple of weeks or so. They’re an amazing little community…fighting for feeding rights…taking flight when more menacing critters stop by, like squirrels and bigger birds, like blue jays. Somehow they all manage to get their share…fair or not.

    Your flock of birds sound exotic by comparison. No matter…as long as we humans enjoy living alongside other species…big, small…common, exotic… 🙂

Leave a Reply

