9 AUGUST 2011 : ESTAP : MOUNTAINS

FROM THE FOOT OF MY DRIVEWAY

011

 

MOUNTAIN : A natural elevation of the earth’s surface having considerable mass, generally steep sides, and a height greater than that of a hill

 

We do actually have a renowned HILL just near here. PICKETT HILL.

They say its protected by a YOWIE.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yowie

sues birds

Tuesday and I am back with you on the eBENCH and in serious need of a good sitdown and a wee Yaan. MOUNTAINS are one of my favourite themes along with RIVERS. I know a really good site about RIVERS but not about MOUNTAINS and I have used the  weekend of family activities to let the thoughts of MOUNTAINS roam around in my head and settle in. Before I start writing any mountainous thoughts, I shall take a look at the Photo Challenge Sites and at a few random images as well.  I will also take a look at our North Coast Mountains. I don’t think they are particularly BIG mountains but they are the ones I know. Mt Warning, up on the Tweed, is the plug of an ancient volcano and down here we have the Dorrigo Ranges curling around us. With a few days to think about MOUNTAINS,I am expecting to come across some interesting ideas and facts and philosophies. I live on the Flats near the mouth of two rivers. The land is very FLAT down here where the Cottage is  but up behind me to the North and West are the Mountain Ranges. I know some of the names of various peaks and roads. I know some of the small towns and I know the Dorrigo Mountain Road very well and it has haunted me for years. Nonetheless, I know pathetically little for someone who has lived here for many years. Mountains are like that. Guess that’s why people climb them and trek in them and explore them. As I said, I don’t think they are very big mountains but they are OUR mountains and PICKET HILL is OUR Hill.

 

PHOT CHALLENGGE SITES 2Clorikeets

Some of the Blogs have chosen some different kinds of mountains. Like the ‘Mountain of Tomatoes’ from Sussex.  That opens my vision somewhat. Mountains of Problems, mountains of washing up, mountains of rubbish. 

____________________________________________

AND NOW FOR SOME AUSTRALIAN MOUNTAINS.

127

 

 

DORRIGO MOUNTAIN. THE MOUNTAINS UP BEHIND MY PLACE.

 

011

 

 

May be very little to do with Mountains – in a way – but for this ageing Freak , as for most of us – there have been an awful lot of mountains between 1970 or so when I first heard Bobby McGee and 2011 where I sit now contemplating MOUNTAINS.

 

I have been in Sorrow’s kitchen and licked out all the pots. Then I have stood on the peaky mountain wrapped in rainbows, with a harp and sword in my hands.

Zora Neale Hurston

One thought on “9 AUGUST 2011 : ESTAP : MOUNTAINS”

  1. Those beautiful Dorrigo Ranges – I can almost smell them from here! You are so lucky to have this magnificent view at the foot of your driveway, through all kinds of weather!

Leave a Reply

