28 AUGUST 2011 : ESTAP : 2 UP – upright, or moving towards an upright position

upright, or moving towards an upright position

He stood up and pulled a chair out for me to sit on.

I found Hattie sitting up in bed.

The dog stopped with its ears up and nose twitching.

025

THE YAAN.

Bear with me. I am going to have a shower and wash off some blood and consider the concept of upright.  Then  I shall be back for a Yaan.  My folks were UPRIGHT people. Perhaps that’s a slight variation on the purely erect – but they were upright.

7.24 pm. OK then. UP No 2. I was thinking about that while I was showering. I was thinking that for a Narcotics Addict like me, a lot of life was not UP – it was PRONE. I shall leave the implications of both conditions to you.

I have a wish at the moment. I wish my little Cheery Redhead could stand UP and walk. We had such a good time last week. She was walking and showing people in the streets that she was very good at it. Now she’s back down and I so wish she were UP.

I went out Bush today. Up the South Arm Road which I love. Leeches got me. Well – only three leeches. I was interested in the effects due to the tiny amount of platelets I create. I thought the bleeding might be rather heavy. It wasn’t. I put the Cheery Redhead down calmly fetched the salt and poured it on the critter and let it drop off. Later I went for a walk, pushing the Baby who is NOT UP in her pram. Another small leech which my companion impulsively flicked off. The one which caused the damage up above went unnoticed for rather a long time. I found it inside the house and by then it was engorged with blood. I added salt one more time and off it went. Filled UP it was. With my blood. Nothing else ever wants my polluted blood. Not even the Red Cross Blood Bank. I was rather touched that the Leech took a shine to me.

013 jabiru2
114 076

A WALKING SONG FOR OUR CHEERY REDHEAD

 

AND FOR THE EAST COAST OF NEW YORK. MAY YOU ALL REMAIN UPRIGHT.

Let’s close the YAAN off with a thought for the game of TWO-UP.

https://www.awm.gov.au/encyclopedia/two_up/

http://www.planbooktravel.com.au/attractions/wa/kalgoorlie/two-up-school

The Australian Oxford Dictionary defines two-up (or swy) as “a gambling game in which coins are spun in the air and bets placed on a showing of two heads or two tails”.

HELPING TO GET HER UP ON HER FEET.

http://www.mypacs.net/cases/TODDLERS-FRACTURE-84329.html

http://www.pedsradiology.com/Historyanswer.aspx?qid=33&fid=1

http://www.aappublications.org/cgi/content/full/pediatrics;118/3/1299

http://www.nursingcenter.com/prodev/ce_article.asp?tid=685358

There is a faintly visible lucent line crossing the mid-distal tibia obliquely. This is characteristic of the “toddler’s fracture” of the tibia, a common accidental injury seen in young children.

This fracture occurs in the age group of approximately 9 months to 3 years. The child is typically irritable and refuses to bear weight on the affected extremity. There is usually no definite preceding trauma observed by the parent. The fracture results from a twisting or torque force on the tibia which occurs during one of the frequent accidental falls that are so common in this age group. Because of the frequency of such accidental falls, it is difficult or impossible to pinpoint a single traumatic event that precedes the symptoms.

Radiographs of the tibia may reveal an oblique, nondisplaced hairline fracture of the mid to lower shaft of the tibia, which may be very subtle and often visible on only one view. In some cases, the fracture may not be visible at all on the initial radiographs, and only soft tissue swelling may be evident. When a toddler’s fracture is strongly suspected, but not visible on radiographs, a radionuclide bone scan may be helpful to confirm the abnormality. Alternatively, the leg may be immobilized and repeat follow-up radiographs may show the fracture more clearly. This patient’s subsequent radiograph shows the fracture line to be more easily visible at follow-up than on the initial films

Leave a Reply

