5 SEPTEMBER 2011: ESTAP : PATHS

TODAY’S PICK OF THE PIC BLOGS. BLACK CAT’S RAMBLINGS

JPG

THE NEW FOOTPATH IN CHURCH STREET BELLINGEN.

A matter of contention. Constructed at great cost from imported blocks for who knows what reason. Shade trees were chopped down and outside designers and builders brought in to create this. The Cheery Redhead looks as disgusted as many of us are. When it rains the water pools on the timber as you can see. Makes me wonder what the timber is coated in. It doesn’t really lead anywhere either. A path should lead someplace. It should ramble, perhaps.

032

THE YAAN

I am off to the X-ray Department at Bellingen Hospital this morning with the C.R. and her legs. I know there is a fine path through the grounds amongst the exotic trees planted there years back by Dr Hewitt.  I shall be back this afternoon and see what I can tell you about it.

PATH : DEFINITION No 2:  a way from one place to another passing through a lot of people or around a lot of objects

2.09 pm. Back from the trip to Bello and the XRay at the local hospital. I didn’t get down into the paths around the hospital but I did see some at the River. I’m not touching the esoteric meanings of PATH as yet. Today I am simply looking at some more walkways and considering the 2nd definition of finding a way of passing through a lot of people or around a lot of objects. I don’t so often have to do the people thing due to living in the country.  I walk a lot with the little one and life looks very different from her viewpoint.   We certainly have a lot of obstacles to get through and with the leg injuries, we have done a good bit of weaving and creating of our own paths.

I, myself, am rather good as this particular form of pathmaking. I seem well able to wend a way through people and things. They clear before me like the Red Sea Parting. Lets mix the metaphors and attribute a kind of sonar like the Flying Foxes have and I am pretty impressive at getting through. My brother has a new VW with all the fancy warning things on it and I am much like that ve-hicle.

I do some of my walking with the Iz who is NOT good at making a path through people. He says he must be invisible to people and he is often blocked and be-bothered by the obstacles.

I also have a friend, a Guri man from Nambucca and he spoke to me once of BUSHWALKING. Neither of us thinks much of BUSHWALKERS. Love walking through the Bush. Following the small paths, the natural paths, the almost hidden paths. But BUSH WALKING – with an air of attack, of conquering – well that’s another thing entirely. There is almost always a Path already there – if you go gentle at it.

http://www.cairnsunlimited.com/aboriginalculture.htm

http://pubsites.uws.edu.au/ndco/disclosure/

RANDOM PATHS.

036 017
033 143

RANDOM PATH SITES.

http://www.criticalpath.org.au/

http://www.path.org.au/

http://www.buddhanet.net/cbp2_f4.htm

“Go often to the house of thy friend, for weeds choke the unused path.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson. (1803-1882)

AUSTRALIAN POETRY.

FROM JUDITH WRIGHT

The paths that energy takes on its way to exhaustion

are not to be forecast.  These pathways, you and me,

follow unguessable routes. 

http://www.poetrylibrary.edu.au/poets/wright-judith/winter-0541042

037
One thought on “5 SEPTEMBER 2011: ESTAP : PATHS”

  1. I have not looked as I fear I will be eternally traumatized once again.. So I am waiting until I am stronger to see this. I am somewhat frightened of the prospect of it, as I fear I may get somewhat annoyed,. I am not given the pleasure of showing ANY disdain for ANYTHING… So I cannot see it …. YET! I would not feel safe!

Leave a Reply

