14 SEPTEMBER 2011 : SYDNEY : ESTAP : HOT BATHS IN THE CITY AND THE TEXTURES OF GRIEVING.

AND A VOICE OF SOCIAL CONSCIENCE WHICH WON’T BE IGNORED.

LYNNEBW2

THE YAAN.

I have been in the City for a couple of days now.  The texture of it is different from my country life. Solid sandstone and rusting iron. I don’t like the look of the country towns I live in. I like some of the buildings and a lot of the landscape but I don’t like most of the  look of the towns. They continue to be raped and pillaged. Here in the Inner West of Sydney, a good deal of the buildings and trees and walkways has survived and mellowed and deepened in quality and character. I’m staying in today. The light is gentle and filtered, with the Springtime trees a lighter green than I recall.

I was here this time last year but it was a very different trip with my sister so ill and our outings were to the radiation unit at the big hospital up the road. Then we came home and tucked her onto the huge sofa in the back room and talked of many things. Grief and shock were the wraiths wrapping around us back then. Grieving is here with me now and touches everything that I do but the texture of it is changing. The sharp points are greatly rubbed off or rounded.

I was meant to stay two nights in a luxury 4 star hotel down near Darling Harbour – gratis and for free while my Partner attended a Conference on the matter of Community Centres. I wasn’t happy about it from the beginning. I am of the underclass and I sit uneasily with profit making in the Welfare Industry. Industry indeed. Nevertheless, I thought I would take a look. One look was all I needed. I don’t like skyscrapers. I don’t like air conditioning and I don’t like wank. I don’t like bad taste either.

Home we came to elegance and dignity and peace. I leave that matter to the ones who want to be involved in it.

https://www.regodirect.com.au/lcsa2011/

 

As for me, I would prefer to learn from people like http://www.peacepilgrim.org/book/chapt2.htm

“So I got busy on a very interesting project. This was to live all the good things I believed in. I did not confuse myself by trying to take them all at once, but rather if I was doing something that I knew I shouldn’t be doing I stopped doing it and I always make a quick relinquishment. That’s the easy way. Tapering off is long and hard. And if I was not doing something that I knew I should be doing, I got busy on that. It took the living quite a while to catch up with the believing, but of course it can, and now if I believe something, I live it. Otherwise it would be perfectly meaningless. As I lived according to the highest light I had, I discovered that other light was given; that I opened myself to receiving more light as I lived the light I had. “

PEACE PILGRIM

Leaving that Hotel room and coming back to a family home was a seemingly small act. Refusing to participate in a Conference costing many thousands of dollars whilst ignoring the people its meant to serve – that was another small step. But how good it feels to actually LIVE THE THINGS I BELIEVE IN ! Puts a dance in my step so it does.

This is MY holiday and I have things I want to do and see.

Now lets see what’s happened so far:

 IMAGES OF A SYDNEY SPRINGTIME 2011

030

Leave a Reply

