18 SEPTEMBER 2011: ESTAP : SUNDAY IN SYDNEY.

SUNDAY IN SYDNEY.

THE YAAN. Stopped in my tracks a little today. I ran out of Oomph.

That led to a Springtime day of being at home. Next door, they seemed to be having a lunchtime party with laughter and children and dogs. Passers by greeted one another and idled along and I arranged a visit to my Aunt tomorrow, out in the Western Suburbs. I have not often had holidays. Mostly, I have travelled on medical matters for other people or to visit family so this time I am keeping familial business to a minimum and doing some sightseeing in this city which was once mine. In fact – more than once.

Here’s the background. I was born here in a suburb called Summer Hill, spent the first year at the family home on Canterbury Road, Hurlstone Park while my Dad built the house which was to become our home for 20 years. 27 PAXTON AVENUE, BELMORE. The suburban dream.

Then at 20, I went bush teaching for a couple of years, back to Belmore for one and then into the Inner City world or drugs and wild living. That meant Drummoyne, Balmain, Chiswick. Took off from there to Far North Queensland and then back to Urunga as a base for years.

1987, I came back to Sydney until 1994, living in Rozelle Mental Hospital, Detour Womens Rehab at Kensington, Langton Centre on South Dowling Street at Surry Hills. Then I was out to Bondi Cliffhangers  on Hastings Parade North Bondi. That led to the return of my children and a home in Forest Knoll Ave, Bondi and then 71/6 Wauchope Crescent South Coogee.

The 1990s and early 2000s saw me paying visits to my daughter and other family members in Camperdown and Annandale.

That’s Sydney then. I have seen a lot of changes since 1949 and some really wonderful reclamations and restorations. I am seriously enjoying this visit in grand old suburb. The village atmosphere seems to have been re-created in a good few places and the café life is good stuff. I have a healthy supply of sandstone and old trees with spring blossoms and the weathered beauty that suits me best and smooths my furrowed brow.  I shall have sticky black rice soon and settle in for the night before I tackle the Western Suburbs tomorrow. In the meantime, I shall use the Sunday idleness to create a rogues’ gallery of Random Faces. 

ROGUES’ GALLERY OF RANDOM FACES.

face kateFACE MADDYfacecassFACE JIM SAFFACESAFLYNNE11FACE KATHYface orFACE MARKETface growersface iz2

I was put onto this Vid by JANICE SLATER of BENTEN LAUGHING. 

________________________________________________________________

JANE AND HILARY IN NEW ZEALAND.

HE WAS ONCE A TRUE LOVER OF MINE.

Leave a Reply

