23 OCTOBER 2011 : SUNDAY. WINDY SUNDAY.

MARTIN PLACE.

OPPORTUNITY – OR NOT.
shoe shiner

A week after I took these shots, this area was OCCUPIED. I wonder whether any of these people saw it coming. I wonder what they were thinking at lunchtime in September which is our Springtime.  I wonder what its like there now.

mp2

065

MARTIN PLACE IN SYDNEY. SEPTEMBER 2011.

MARTIN PLACE TODAY

HERALD SUN

THE YAAN.

Maybe I will get the images of the shoe shiner out of my mind soon and maybe I won’t.  I am back in the Country now and today has been a windy Sunday. An easy day. A happy day. That doesn’t mean I can get the image of the shoe shiner in the City out of my head. I lived somewhat on the streets from time to time. I have sat in a gutter in Kings Cross with Hare Krishna food cupped in my hands for 20 cents  a serve and I have lined up in a very long queue for the  twice a year charity clothing supply for me and my two kids. I have begged for food vouchers and electricity vouchers. I have lived in caravans and on occasion, in a tent. These things may well have been “my own fault”.  Once, I would have accepted that diagnosis. Nowadays, I don’t care whether it was “my own fault” or not.  Some of us just don’t make it in the World, not easily anyways. 

Maybe, each person could do with sitting in the gutter for a month or a year and smell it and taste it and wonder how they came to be sitting there in a gutter they weren’t looking for. Wonder, too, about how they would get up from there and walk again.  Smugness is easily soluble in misfortune.

Seems to me that the Gutter can very easily rise up to meet any one of us. 

Maybe I will get the image of the Shoe Shiner out of my head soon – but I don’t think I will so easily lose the visions of the Passers By.

HUGH LAURIE’S PROTEST SONG

MORE PHOTO CHALLENGE SITES 2C.

http://sweetdaysundertheoaks.com/2011/10/22/weekly-photo-challengeopportunity/

http://andreadreamin.com/2011/10/21/weekly-photo-challenge-opportunity-staying-on-the-path/

 

TOMORROW, I AM GOING TO DO THE 22 THINGS I HAVE NEVER DONE AND THE 22 THINGS I HAVE DONE.

FOR NOW I SHALL SLEEP ON THAT.

One thought on “23 OCTOBER 2011 : SUNDAY. WINDY SUNDAY.”

  1. Nelibell I have enjoyed my visit here and must return. I like how you have your photo challenge shots all organized and easy for the reader to see. I wanted to thank you for the link back to my blog for the photo challenge “opportunity”.

Leave a Reply

