OCTOBER 31 2011 : HIDDEN THINGS

095

THE YAAN: THE HIDDEN LIFE OF THE BELLINGER RIVER.

For today, I have chosen this image for the HIDDEN photo challenge. Its Halloween and the end of the Month and on my mind are all the small hidden things of life but yesterday we were at the BELLINGEN RIVER FESTIVAL where we were not only celebrating life on the River but also searching through and for the Hidden Things of the Bellinger. The Hidden past. The personal adventures and stories. I like rivers. I think they are mysterious. We know there are bull routs and eels down there under the water and old bottles and bits and pieces from ships and shops long gone. The water supply is somehow filtered through the pebbles as the bottom so they tell me. I don’t get that one as yet but one day I will read up on it. I know the last pirate executed in  Australia was captured down at Fernmount by an undercover  policeman in the 1800s and that my children’s ancestors built at least one of the big bridges. The pirate had a black silk bandana, a gold earring and other odds and ends hidden in his bag. I didn’t think pirates actually did that.

We have a subtropical island in the middle of the river as well. BAT ISLAND it is called. It used to have those big tropical stinging plants that look innocent but I don’t know whether it still has them. I haven’t been there for a bit.   There is something about Rivers. I shall do some looking up of my favourite River sites and quotes. Best do some googling on other HIDDEN blog entries as well and a few thoughts about the hubbling bubbling hidden things that this month has shown me glimpses of.

THERE IS ALWAYS SOMETHING THAT IS HIDDEN.

nana swimcanoe3girls104059

THE HIDDEN VALLEYS OF THE BELLINGER RIVER.

Map picture

 

 

 

OTHER RIVERS.

 

Leave a Reply

