2 NOVEMBER 2011 : YOU CAN’T SEE ME.

AT THE RIVER FESTIVAL.

091

hide

1. to conceal from sight; prevent from being seen or discovered:

2. to obstruct the view of; cover up:

3. to conceal from knowledge or exposure; keep secret:

THE YAAN.

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.)

I went with the Cheery Redhead for her first Swimming Lesson today. I am the Grandmother and I am able, therefore, to sit beside the pool and watch quietly. I am extremely fond of Grandmotherhood. I saw and heard the children laughing and splashing and sliding down the slippery dip. I chatted with my brother-in-law’s niece and I THOUGHT. I have always liked thinking and ruminating and Grandmotherhood allows for that.

All week I have been thinking of the things which are hidden. The reasons for hiding them. The ways of hiding them. I have come to a decision to do nothing at all for anyone at the moment. Sounds harsh but I rather think its Wisdom. I truly don’t know many of the elements of any situation or person.  This year has had so much pain in it. So much confusion. So many situations that I wanted to change and couldn’t. So much advice I wanted to give and didn’t because I don’t know whether I’m right or wrong or someplace in the middle. Too many hidden things and I give up. I can’t work it out. I can’t go on with a sense of outrage all the time. Nor with a feeling of shock at outrageous things all the time so I am going to pay attention to the next thing in front of me and that’s about it. I wish I could fix everything up for everyone but instead I guess I will just go and wash my hair, put some pjyamas on and  get myself some dinner. Fresh eggs that the little Red Hen laid out the back in the laundry this morning and some watermelon for the Summertime Heartbeat.

I have happily lifted this one from the Narcotics Anonymous Daily Meditation Book.

November 2

Living with unresolved problems

“It makes a difference to have friends who care if we hurt.”

Basic Text, p. 56

––––=––––

For most of our problems, the solution is simple.  We call our sponsor, pray, work the steps, or go to a meeting.  But what about those situations where the burden is ongoing and there’s no end in sight?

Most of us know what it’s like to live with a painful situation—a problem that just isn’t going to disappear.  For some of us, the problem is an incurable, life-threatening illness.  Some of us have incorrigible children.  Some of us find that our earnings simply don’t cover our living expenses.  Some of us care for a chronically ill friend or family member.

Those of us who have ever had to live with an unresolved problem know the relief that comes from just talking about our problem with our recovering friends.  We may get some comic relief.  Our friends may commiserate or cry in sympathy.  Whatever they do, they ease our burden.  They may not be able to solve our problem for us or take away our painful feelings, but just knowing that we are loved and cared about makes our problems bearable.  We never have to be alone with our pain again.

––––=––––

Just for today:  Those problems I can’t resolve can be made bearable by talking to a friend.  Today, I will call someone who cares.

 

YOU CAN’T SEE ME

001001021011011055

Leave a Reply

