1 DECEMBER 2011 : MAKE PEOPLE CRY–IN THE SUMMERTIME

ALTUCHER CONFIDENTIAL

Tip No. 15 : Make people cry

http://www.jamesaltucher.com/2011/03/33-unusual-tips-to-being-a-better-writer/

The first day of SUMMER 2011.

Cold and Wet.

SISTERS IN THE SUMMERTIME.

54 urunga

DECEMBER 2010 : PORT MACQUARIE. THE LAST SUMMER.  THE LAST CHRISTMAS.

132

THE YAAN.

I do believe ALTUCHER’s  unusual techniques are beginning to work for me.  He says to go back to the moment in time, the childhood moment when everything lay ahead : bring readers to that moment when they were a child, and all of life was in front of them, except for that one bittersweet moment when everything began to change. If only that one moment could’ve lasted forever

christmasroses00lawsiala_0006I am sitting here on the first day of Summer. Its cool and wet and grey – again. I don’t suppose our childhood was an endless blue-skied Summertime but it seems now to have been that way. My sister was younger than me by 2 1/2 years.  Last year on the 1 December 2011, we were at her house in Port Macquarie but this year her seat is empty. We covered 6 decades together, Susan and me. Little post war girls in Sydney, Australia, in a house that Dad built.

I don’t think I will be making you cry today because its one of those snuggled in days of old TV shows and happy memories combined with a security in the present and a candle flicker of hope for what’s coming. Maybe I can bring some smiles instead of more sorrowings.

We liked Christmas. Always did and last year, when she knew it was likely her last Christmas and her tree was worn and old as were we, we worked out how to buy one online and it was home delivered to her place.  I don’t know what it looked like but she said she went for the BEST one she could find. The one she liked the most. She was the one with the exquisite taste in gifts and decorations. I’m the one who finds out where things are.

Last year, all her family came home for Christmas and all my family came here to me . It will be very different this year.

This week, I’m digging around in the Internet Archive so here’s a few of the finds for you, Little Sister.

christmasevechri00hale  angels00hydegoog   lifeadventuresof0baum

 

THE LIFE AND ADVENTURES OF SANTA CLAUS.

Leave a Reply

