3 JANUARY 2012 : THE WHITE ROSE TRADING COMPANY : DROP OUT SOMETIME.

A LOT OF US WENT OUT FOR LUNCH IN THE LATE 60s BUT MOST OF US CAME BACK.

IMG_0056

SOME OF US DIDN’T COME BACK.

IMG_0589

THE YAAN : which will be blessedly brief today. You are the ones who will be blessed by my having aerated yesterday and not having so much to Yaan about today.  I came across the Video below about BLOODY HIPPIES and it turned my mind way back. I was in Australia not New Zealand but there are more similarities than differences. 

THE YAAN

http://www.wilsonsalmanac.com/book/jan3.html

Pip tells me that J.R.R. TOLKIEN was born on 3 January. Way back in 1892.

It does not do to leave a dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.
JRR Tolkien, British writer of fantasy, born on January 3, 1892

Right then. Hang on while I seat myself comfortably here on the eBENCH and get my head into Yaaning space. I’m going for the 250 words today without Pics to support me.  The Pics can come later. I was responding to a comment on Facebook today about the sub tropical island in the middle of the river in the middle of our town, Bellingen. For many years, there was a caravan park and camping ground right beside it and under the big trees where the flying foxes live. Sometime, not long back, the Council decided to do away with the Caravan Park. ‘Cedars’ was its name. This is Red Cedar country. Sometimes it seems to me that our Council is actually deranged. Reason I am talking about the Cedars Caravan Park is that I first read Tolkien there. In a tent. With my Greek Lover. Lord of the Rings. That was 1972 and magic was entering my life. Magic and Mystery after a Sydney suburban childhood. I won’t speak today of the sinister and sorrowful offshoots. Just of the Magic of reading Tolkien under ancient trees beside a sub-tropical island and encountering the possibility of DROPPING OUT.  Not that I had a term for it back then. I think I was merely feeling the hint of hope that there may be a way to live other than the one I was doing so poorly at.

Funny thing was, my childhood was a loving time. A secure home and parents and brother and sister and cousins etc. I just never did it very well. And I hated the ROUTINE. Of bus and train and  school etc. Then I met Mr Tolkien.

I went back to Sydney for a short time to teach a little more school and live in a commune in Drummoyne. Then we took off for the FAR NORTH of QUEENSLAND and lived on 4 Mile beach at PORT DOUGLAS in a tent, sailed south on the UTIEKAH III and came to Urunga and Bellingen where we ( the Greek Lover, me , siblings and extensions) opened the WHITE ROSE TRADING COMPANY. The Caravan Park was in the same street that I just spent the IN BETWEEN week of 2011/2012 minding house and dog in.  40 years later and this time I spent it with Mr Rice Burroughs.  Its been an interesting few decades, all in all.

“THIS TIME, STAY DROPPED OUT, MUM.”  Kati B.

From Pip’s BOOK OF DAYS : 1945 Stephen Stills, US singer; vocals-guitar-keys (Buffalo Springfield) Crosby, Stills and Nash [and Young]; Manassas solo)

http://www.crosbystillsnash.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Stills

http://www.stephenstills.com/index-v10.html

 

THE 70s at a glimpse. scan0026

coolangatta berry IMG_0008
IMG_0042 IMG_0082

http://luc.devroye.org/

From Walter Crowley’s “Rites of Passage” There is another legacy of the Sixties which is often neglected: tens of thousands of individuals who won the revolution at least in their own lives. They live within the system but they are not part of it. They organize their work and existences by their own rules, and have achieved a personal independence of thought, action and moral choice which does not require social sanction. They are free men and women and their examples might be the most subversive influences extant today.

I can’t find the WHITE ROSE TRADING COMPANY SCANS. I only have a few of them and they have only recently come into my possession and now I can’t find them. No Matter. Going out on the Birthday of Tolkien and Stills with an Altucherian Bang by showing you a couple of pics of DOWLE STREET, BELLINGEN as it is today. Still Magical and still Mysterious.

003 022
091 074
Leave a Reply

