JANUARY 22 2012 : At twenty years of age the will reigns; at thirty, the wit; and at forty, the judgment. Benjamin Franklin.

20-30-40.

11156_203345871341_547151341_3124629_6678445_n
IMG_0063
IMG_0262

This is what it means to be an adventurer in our day: to give up creature comforts of the mind, to realize the possibilities of imagination. Because everything around us says no you cannot do this, you cannot live without that, nothing is useful unless it’s in service to money, to gain, to stability. The adventurer gives in to tides of chaos, trusts the world to support her – and in doing so turns her back on the fear and obedience she has been taught. She rejects the indoctrination of impossibility.”

hib & kika, off the map

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/adventuring

THE YAAN : I have woken unintelligent which is a Bummer when the GEM COLLECTION has 2 quotes like these, requiring intelligent comment.

When I was 20, I was teaching in a 2 teacher school way down in the Southern Bush in the cold country. Maybe WILL reigned briefly back then but now that I am looking at me with the class of littlies, I think it was the age when I realised that the price tag on adventuring could be very high.

Then at 30, I am bridesmaid at my sister’s 2nd wedding. 2nd marriage as well. I don’t look as though WIT was reigning then. I don’t recall it as a witty time of my life but I had married so I may well have been living on my wits – or I could have been at wit’s end.

And at 40 – at 40 – FREE AT LAST, FREE AT LAST.  Good Judgement had come. Sober and drug free and working at Bondi Beach in Sydney. JUDGEMENT and the wisdom to know the difference.

_______________________

IMG_0243

an adventurer in these days

I am going out now.  Just a couple of kilometres but at the end of the couple of kiometres is an AA meeting and that, in itself, makes me an adventurer in this day because what it will ask of me is this :

to give up creature comforts of the mind

Leave a Reply

