JANUARY 24 2012 : Better keep yourself clean and bright; you are the window through which you must see the world. George Bernard Shaw.

http://koti.mbnet.fi/pasenka/quotes/q-writ.htm

flood2

THE GEM COLLECTION

019

Advocate (Burnie, Tas. : 1890 – 1954), Monday 21 June 1937

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article68484466

WINDOW Advocate (Burnie, Tas. 1890 - 1954), Monday 21 June 1937,

 

BELLINGEN SHIRE COUNCIL

Council Road Closures
Updated: Tuesday 24 January at 6:10am
Closed
Due to the recent heavy rain events there is minor to moderate flooding occurring across the Bellingen Shire. Motorists are warned not to enter low areas on roads that could be inundated by water, particularly lying bridges.
The following roads are closed:
Waterfall Way, Dorrigo Mountain – ROAD CLOSED DUE TO LAND SLIPS (To be re-assessed at 1:00pm today)
Darkwood Road.
Summervilles Road at Rosewood bridge.
Lavenders bridge at Bellingen.
Gordonville Road at McFadens bridge.
Kalang Road at Moodys bridge.

http://www.bellingenweather.org/

road closed

THE YAAN.

The floods came and are still here. I went to town for a bit and when I turned into my road to come home the last bit, I came straight to a sign saying ROAD CLOSED. My car is small. A charade. I sat a bit and watched. I knew for sure I would be going through the water and getting myself the last 1/2 kilometre home but I wanted to know what the road was like and how best t get through. Just beside the first flooded stretch is RALEIGH SANDS. They dredge the river and sell the sands. They were packing up and getting out before they were blocked in. One 4 wheel drive came on through. Gave me a bit of  a surprise. It was somewhat deeper than I expected. That had me sitting a little longer and doing some more thinking. Then another 4 wheel drive came out. Over to one side with his passeneger side wheels up on the concrete and stone of the bridge base.

Locals are good value. He stopped when he got through and said he would walk me back and show me where best to drive so the Charade and me came on through with wheels up on the concrete. All done sweet as. It’s a 1.9 metre tide as well and the river is pretty close to breaking the banks now.

The funny thing is there is no water in our paddocks. Floods are odd things. They do one thing one time and another thing the next. I’m just glad that the young smiling man with Hayden tattooed on his arm in beautiful script walked me through the water. Could have done it on my own – but it was better with Hayden.

I even asked him whether he sold small quantities of sand when they were opened. Yep ,  said he. From a bucket to  tip truck.  When the floods go down again, I will go along and buy one small child’s worth of sand for her sandpit.

013030044

MEANWHILE BACK AT THE WINDOWS.

http://www.2bbb.net.au/

THE KOOKS.

LOOK THROUGH ANY WINDOW

 
IMGP2705 000_4559
my ankle 001 sydney nov07 190
bilambil 012 AUSSIE DAY EVE 008
wr 020 205

MY 2012 BEDROOM WINDOW WITH THE PASSIONFRUIT VINE.

061

3 thoughts on “JANUARY 24 2012 : Better keep yourself clean and bright; you are the window through which you must see the world. George Bernard Shaw.”

  1. Good luck in the floods .. love your tale of crossing with Hayden …we are bone dry here and really need rain for the orchard and bush. Hoping some rain comes along on the weekend …just send a bit down south please 🙂

Leave a Reply

