31 JANUARY 2012 : THE END OF THE FIRST MONTH

bench note

And the Badges appear.

ONE DAY OF BLUE SKIES AND HEAT AND FUN. PICKING PASSIONFRUIT. DOING UNI ASSIGNMENTS. PLAYING WITH NANA.

036

The fire truck has been brought to the north side and we know what that means …… Kath.

“a bellingen saying in times of flood approaching”

THE YAAN :

I thought I would not be bothering you with rainy day stories  today. It was one good looking day. I was singing as I drove along and the wee Lass and me played frivolously while her Mum did a uni assignment.  Then tonight, the rains have come back again. So, let’s sit awhile here on the eBENCH and laugh A LOT. Last night, just before bedtime, I heard a loud and snorty noise out front. Took a look and just past the 3 cats and 2 dogs   was a white horse and a dark horse. They didn’t fool me this time. A few days back, the pair of them came a’visiting. I took myself out to get some pics of Jack, the friendly horse and some shots of the little white pony.

“Jack” was somewhat aloof but I figured he was hoping to be allowed to stay in my front yard – grazing.  Turned out it wasn’t Jack, the Friendly Horse. It was Leo, the Loony. I would not have been so casual in approaching him if I had realised that it was him.  So, last night when I heard the loud and snorty noise and turned on the outside lights, I knew that Leo and his White Lady had again escaped from their place 2 paddocks away and come over here where the grass is greener.

Now, I am not a horse person. No idea how to handle them. The Owners do that and the daughter of the household  arrived home just as I threw an outdoor light on the scene., brining with her all her horse experience. She called her mum and after they had walked through a spiderweb with one fat spider in the dark and untangled Leo’s coat which he had somehow wrapped over his head , they put both horses into the Front Paddock.

These are not our horses.  Called the daughter of the House.

Turned out the Lady of the House would not have been so casual handling “ Jack” either had she known it was really Leo.

I think there’s a lesson in that for all of us.

one word to the Wise – don’t underestimate the StoryTeller

THE COLDSTREAM IS FLOWING BACKWARDS.

a clarentzian saying in times of approaching flood.

rain The Advertiser (Adelaide, SA 1931 - 1954), Tuesday 5 October 1954,

What is JUPITER PLUVIUS ?

rain pluvius

Alexandra and Yea Standard, Gobur, Thornton and Acheron Express (Vic. : 1877 – 1908), Friday 18 December 1903

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article57651178

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jupiter_(mythology)

http://www.jupiterpluvius.com/

http://radiobloomsday.blogspot.com.au/2011/05/recent-visitation-of-jupiter-pluvius.html

http://vashluv.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/monsoon-jupiter-pluvius-solstice/

saf8

JUPITER PLUVIUS.

jup The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW 1842 - 1954), Saturday 25 June 1949, 2

The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW : 1842 – 1954), Saturday 25 June 1949,

Leave a Reply

