1 FEBRUARY 2012 : EMERGENT

odds and ends

THE YAAN : EMERGENT FROM GRIEF.

I am emerging – to some degree. The Telstra man came today to work on the phone lines. Our phone hasn’t worked for many months. Crackles and no ring in. He traced the cables and found them deep in water. Still my phone didn’t quite work so the Telstra Man checked my actual handsets etc and found that they were corroded from so much wet weather  Now, that’s one thing. The thing that caught me short was that I hadn’t even checked there. I’m usually pretty good at stuff like that. There are quite a lot of things that I am pretty good at. Someplace in shock, grief, joy and transition – I haven’t been very good at anything much.

I emerge. Shaken. And wash the curtains. Check the cables. And polish the bit and pieces that I usually love. Like the ceramics my niece gave me and the table I work on. My head is above water a little more than it has been. And that is despite the rain falling still. I emerge.

095071

Leave a Reply

