2 FEBRUARY 2012 : GOLDEN SLUMBERS

DID SOME INTERNET ARCHIVE DIGGING LAST NIGHT.

CAME UP WITH THIS KNEE BENT RAINED IN PRAYER. pictureprimer00beebgoog_0007

AND CAME UP WITH THIS LULLABY WHICH HAD A FEW OF US CONFUSED ABOUT THE WORDS TILL I FOUND THE 17th CENTURY HISTORY. IT’S A THOMAS DECKER.

pictureprimer00beebgoog_0124

WHICH BRINGS US TO THE BEATLES – NATURALLY ENOUGH.

THE YAAN : I do believe I can see blue skies. Tricky time of the floods this one. The rains appear to have passed and some blue sky appears. People are bored and anxious to go back to work, school and other activities but the waters have NOT all come down from the Mountains yet. Life’s like that. Grief is surely like that.

NEVER DRIVE THROUGH FLOOD WATERS

That’s what we are advised every day here at the moment. A man died night before last up on the Clarence River. He drove onto a road he knew well but the water had come over in a storm. His car stalled. he got out and was washed away and trapped underwater and drowned. Life is like that. Sometimes, one has to go through the flooded waters. That’s the way I figure it. I don’t muck around taking risks as I was once prone to but sometimes – there is no way to turn back. Sometimes there is a reason more important than my own skin that means I am going to head on through the flood. Life is not so simple as NEVER DRIVE THROUGH FLOOD WATERS.

And then, at this end, when the Sun shines again, its still not all over. There’s more water to come down the Mountains, along the headwaters of the rivers and creeks, down the mainstream through the town and across the estuary down here near the rivermouth. Noone knows how much. Noone knows exactly where its going to flood. Noone knows how long its going to take to reach nor how long its going to lie on the land. Life’s like that.

So I listen to the old farmer on the radio and I pay attention to my friend, Neil’s updates on his council website. I take the modern computer modelling for what it is and the interesting theories for what they are and I draw on 62 years of personal experience and family lore and prepare as best I can.  The sky is blue but there is more floodwater to come.

Life’s like that.

060

Leave a Reply

