6 FEBRUARY 2012 : WAKING IN THE MISTS.

swim

BELLINGER RIVER TOURIST PARK

028

026036040

THE YAAN:

Now we have a Summer’s Day. This time last week we were flooded in but today – today – I woke and the mists were down. This time of the year, that means a hot, blue-skied day with maybe a thunderstorm in the afternoon. The Girls are coming down from the Valley and we are going for a swim. Lucky we are water people.

I wasn’t sure where we could swim today. The river still has the Fresh coming down from the floods and the Fresh might be lacking in salt but its packed with debris and mud and odds and ends. I figure it will still be too mussy for the Cheery Redhead to be immersed in.

So I cast my mind about for local swimming pools and the BELLINGER RIVER TOURIST PARK came to mind. I interact with them on Facebook and last week they near washed away. The vans had to be moved from the Park and the River broke her banks and they say there were fish in the Amenities Block. We had a “long assed” flood this time. Over a 2 week period. The Park was one which suffered bigtime. Its only about 1 kilometre from my place but for days and days we were separated by floodwaters.

Anyways, they have a pool. I just gave them a call and its $3 a person to swim. Sounds good to me. One sunny day. Family. A tropical swimming pool. Washing on the lines and lawns mown. Sounds very good to me.

AND WHEN IT COMES TO SWIMMING : I wonder what it is about SWIMMING. GLIMPSES OF A SWIMMING FAMILY.

40 16 cowra 40-41

I am doing some lazy blogging this week – it’s the NO WORDPRESS functioning effect. I’m waiting for the PHOTO THEME of the week and while I’m doing that, I’m taking a look at other people’s Blogs. Curiously quiet on the matter, we all are. Just waiting.

And while I wait for the Girls to arrive and go to the swimming pool, I’m hunting out traces of this family tradition. Up above is my Dad, in the Army. WWII. It’s a creek in Cowra before they went overseas.

30 4 mahon pool

On Mum’s side of the family, the Readys blasted a pool into the rocks at Maroubra Beach in Sydney sometime way back in the 1930s. It’s still there. Once I saw my little son and my brother captured by an unexpected wave. I thought they were going to be washed out to sea but the Son somehow was unto0uched and the brother was dumped and scratched across the rocks. The shells and barnacles made a fair mess of him but things could have been much worse.

We used to visit my Aunt Molly up on the Maroubra Cliffs. She lived till over 100 years and could be still alive now. In their backyard they had sharks’ jaws which impressed me no end when I was a child.

50 @ maroubra
20 years after the Uncles blasted the Pool, I was out there bathing with my Dad and Mum. 1950. Saltwater Child.
60 0 @ forster
 
One thought on “6 FEBRUARY 2012 : WAKING IN THE MISTS.”

Leave a Reply

