18 FEBRUARY 2012 : PORT MACQUARIE.

THERE IS NOTHING QUITE LIKE A RIVER.

LES MURRAY : HASTINGS RIVER CRUISE.

130

A CHINESE JUNK IN PORT MACQUARIE FEBRUARY 18 2012.

THE YAAN. This is a very different eBENCH. A motel room in Port Macquarie. If there is one thing I really like, its living right on the water. I was here in Port Macquarie on this day last year and my sister’s body lay in her bed at her home in Lighthouse Beach. We gathered as a family and mourned and wept and talked and laughed and waited for them to come and take away the shell that was left ot us. When Izzy suggested we come here this weekend, I thought him crazy, as I often do think him.  I gave it a while and some sleeping and then  said yes. I would come to this town where none of my family lives now and I would come on the anniversary. I booked into a motel I had stayed at when my parents were alive and visiting medical people down here. And I was afraid to come. After a year of grief and sorrow.

Its turned out alright.  The feelings I thought might overwhelm me haven’t come. The memories which I thought might rattle their bones at me aren’t the ones which have stirred in my brain.  They are there but they’re weary and settling in amongst the doings of today and the kayaks on the river. Izzy has gone to a forum in a building called the Glasshouse. He’s gone there to learn about Men’s Health in a monstrous artificial construct. It will be air conditioned with no external views and I figure there will be quite a lot of men in suits.

Me – I am watching the kayakers come in from the River. The pelican sitting on the light pole and the fishermen looking as only fishermen can do. I like fishing. I haven’t fished for years – but I have fishing  genes. I like the line, the reels, the kreel, the hooks, the boats.  I am going for a little walk down to the river and over into the shops. Looking for presents for grandchildren. I like grandchildren as well as fishing.  I am waiting for the seaplane to come into dock. It just landed and is out mid river someplace. When its come in to moor, I shall go walking. They tell me dolphins will come up river soon.

I think I might learn a little more about mental health out here than he does in the Glasshouse.  The seaplane’s gear for the day has arrived now. In a trailer on the back of a white station wagon. One man stands on the dock with a thin rope. Guess the seaplane will be here in a moment.

098055

Leave a Reply

