27 FEBRUARY 2012 : ORDINARY EVERYDAY THINGS

THE YAAN : I am writing early this morning. Its peaceful and quiet. Just bird calls, pretty much. I can almost hear the pumpkins growing. It’s the last couple of days of a very wet and cool Summer and the grass is LONG. The pipes are blocked a little and substances are bubbling up now and then. I thought I would just add a few more ordinary everyday images of life here. I like seeing your worlds and I like the difference in the detail. I was surprised when Ellen from Boston told me that the US didn’t have patterned toilet paper and she was surprised that we have so few regulations on our beaches. I know that different places call certain foods and drinks by slightly different names. Things you take for granted might amaze me and things I have in my life as a matter of course, might be exotic or even creepy to you. Jon from Oregon didn’t expect to see palm trees in a lot of my pictures. I hadn’t realised there were so many until he commented. Now I see them everywhere. He remarked on the two lane blacktop road which is our number one highway as well.

As a non traveller, I am very curious about the little things. Do people live in houses or apartments ? Do they pay rent or own their own homes ? Do the children wear school uniforms or not ? How big is the town or city you live in ?

My brother sets off today for 6 months overseas. He travels a lot. He will be seeing Morocco and Egypt and Deserts and Greece and Spain and Jordan. He sends me postcards in the old fashioned way and sees things I shall never see.

We are both fortunate. My sister has gone on the Great Journey. He is going on his next adventure and I am sitting watching a kookaburra and a butcher bird. I think there is a Satin Bower Bird just behind the kookaburra.

SOME ORDINARY EVERYDAY THINGS FROM MY LIFE.

095

A TELEPHONE REPAIR MAN LOOKING FOR THE FAULT IN THE WIRES AMONGST THE FLOODS. GUMBOOTS. THOSE GLOWING ORANGE OR GREEN TOPS ALL WORKMEN HAVE TO WEAR HERE NOW. FLUORO. THIS MAN WAS A RARE EXPERT.

026

I HAVE A SILVER BELL AT THE FRONT DOOR AND A BANANA TREE BEHIND IT DOWN AT THE CORRAL.

008

THE LAWNMOWER IN THE BACKYARD.

011

THAT’S BALI – THE CHOCOLATE LABRADOR WHO LIVES NEXT DOOR BUT IS VERY MUCH AT HOME IN OUR COTTAGE.

013

I LIVE WITH A BASS PLAYER. HERE ARE A FEW ORDINARY EVERYDAY THINGS. AN AUSSIE TABLE. ALUMINIUM SLIDING DOORS. I DO NOT LIKE THEM AT ALL ALTHOUGH I LIKE THE LIGHT. I THINK THE BASS IS A FENDER BUT ONE OF THE ONES NOW MADE IN CHINA. THERE’S A MOBILE PHONE HUWAEII. TROUBLE IS THAT EVEN WITH 3 PROVIDERS WE RARELY GET FULL COVERAGE.

029

GAS CYLINDERS. OUR HOT WATER AND STOVE RUN ON LPG GAS.

Truly sitting on the eBENCH late in the afternoon : Ordinary, everyday indeed. The world has gone loopy. The sullage bubbled right back up through the house and flooded it. Along cam the Fixit man – expert in water waste management or somesuch. There remains an elusive aroma throughout the property.  We did a big end of Summer cleanup out in the laundry area. That was just prior to the erupting volcano of water and goo. Lucky we did because everything was up and out of reach of the muck.

Then we took ourselves and our garbage to the TIP. We don’t get a rubbish collection due to being a couple of kilometres from town so we loaded the Starwagon with garbage and with some pretty good stuff to “recycle”.  At this point, I insert my theme song for a world gone loopy.

So we take the Starwagon load of goodies to the RALEIGH TIP. I think our beady , poo infected eyes had their effect on the Tip Gent. He was about to tell us what it would cost to leave our high quality rubbish there. $31 because we brought  it in the Starwagon and not in a car. So what would it cost if I brought it in the Charade – a small vehicle? $19. At that point he said “ You might go ballistic” and generously relabelled our odds and ends as valuable recyclable goods and took them from us.  We took ourselves up to the actual garbage bins and chucked the actual garbage with malice and aforethought and satisfying metallic thwacks into their open yaws. Except for when the auto dissolving white ‘plastic’ bags auto imploded in mid air.  Izzy is a gentle man but there was an edge to the manner in which he threw the scrubbed clean empty honey glass jars into the cavernous metal pit the Tip has for glass which  then shatters on impact.

Now he’s digging holes in the backyard to bury rubbish in and preparing a bonfire. Food’s in the compost pile  and it’s time to dance.

It has been a  pretty funny day.

112103115

3 thoughts on “27 FEBRUARY 2012 : ORDINARY EVERYDAY THINGS”

  1. It is the little things we take for granted that seem special and exotic to someone from another country. How wonderful to see a kookaburra. We do not have such a bird here in Canada. In a little while I am going to take the dog for a walk on the lake. Eventhough it has been a mild winter, the bay is frozen. The yard is while with snow, but spring will be here toward the end of March or maybe April.
    I too like hearing the details of others lives in faraway places like Australia.

  2. An enjoyable post Lynne, I too love to learn about the small details of living in different countries and cultures, its so much different from the things we see in the media. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

