WIN #1.

AN IDEA FROM BEYOND THE BRUSH

win

What early memories do you have of your mother?  What did you learn from her?

What about your father – your early memories? What did you learn from him?

THE YAAN : Mid April and I start looking for some ideas for ON THE BENCH. I came across BEYOND THE BRUSH while I was looking at the Photo Challenge Entries for TWO SUBJECTS. It reminded me of my thoughts on the 2 worlds that meet in our cities.

Then I took a look at the other posts in BEYOND THE BRUSH and came across the WIN #1. WRITE IT NOW. I enjoyed it and a few words written in that post added to some of my own findings re the 1812 War. I love shared knowledge and information. It unlocks doors.

Now I am thinking I shall WRITE IT NOW.

I was going to take all 3 of the guidelines but since it’s the week of TWO SUBJECTS, I shall stick with Mum and Dad.

My Mum was a Mum Mum who cooked and cleaned and washed our hair and put us in her bed when we were sick. She was only 4 feet 10 inches tall and she could also sew.

My Dad was a carpenter. He built me a wooden slippery dip and a cubby house with windows. He built our house. Double brick.

My Mum spent some of the War Years in Bangalow with my Auntie Maisie Beckinsale. Mum said she could ride a horse and milk a cow  but I never did see her do that.

My Dad was in the 2/3 Pioneer Battalion of the A.I.F. during the War and he was overseas for 6 years or so. He was shot when he was in New Guinea and he had seen the pyramids and slid down the slopes of Lebanon on a shovel.

My Mum  said that an aeroplane crashed in Rosebery during the War and the whole suburb shook. She was pulled out of school when she was only 14 and went to work at Anderson’s Sausage Factory. She had been Dux of the School.  She could fish as well like all the Bell Family. She said my Great Uncles had dynamited a swimming pool in the rocks at Maroubra because they would not swim at the beach. That was because they were shark fishermen and knew how many huge sharks were down there in Maroubra Bay.

My Dad was a very bad fisherman and he wasn’t very good in boats. He studied to be a carpenter while he was overseas during the War. He even studied in the back of a truck going into the Battle of El Alamein. Once her hand edited the whole of the Funk and Wagnall, at home.

My Mum grew up in Redfern and Rosebery in the City of Sydney. Her father’s family came from Laurieton on the Mid North Coast. The Bell Boys had trawlers. She didn’t tell me about all the convicts in the family. She might not have known.

My Dad spent his holidays in the Village of Kinchela, a little further up the Mid North Coast. He doesn’t seem to have any convicts in his Family.

Other stories about my Mum and Dad are here :

http://brucesanders.wordpress.com/

http://lynnesheritage.wordpress.com/

http://sandersofkinchela.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “WIN #1.”

  1. Lynne – this so great! So many interesting tidbits about your parents! What does Dux mean? and is a slippery dip what I would call a slide? So many interesting colloquialisms the Aussies have. Also a lesson here – swim as the local fishermen swim. Love it.

    1. Hi Lynne. Dux means that you come first at school. I think slippery dip would be a slide. I like discovering the small differences in language and daily life. The ones I take for granted. Thank you for the WIN idea. I have been looking for some direction this year and not finding it. Yrs L.

Leave a Reply

