1957 – AUNTIE BETTY’S WEDDING

57 betty's wedding 2 mar 1957

I hit the bigtime in 1957 as a flower girl in pink. My mum’s family had 4 children. 3were in a batch. Jack, Jean and Joyce and then years later came the baby, Betty Bell. My grandmother, Jessie Sarah, seemed rather dour to me and intimidating to many but she was rather frivolous with naming her children so it seems to me and none of them had middle names which is another curious  rebellion against tradition.  When Auntie Betty Bell married Uncle Roy Burton, it was a big thing in the family.  I thought I was rather lovely at the time and I still do.

I am going to add some more photos while I have them because there are going to be a whole lot of years in the 64 where there are not a lot of images. Probably. My mother and sisters’ albums may well have more than I recall. We have all been camera mad forever.

For 1957, here are the others.

57 betty's wedding poppa & bet

MY POPPA BELL WITH AUNTIE BETTY

57 betty's wedding w the sandersMY DAD, ME, SUSAN, MUM AND JON WITH AUNTIE BETTY.

 57 carter boys @ rosebery

THE CARTER BOYS AT ROSEBERY. NANA AND POPPA BELL’S HOUSE.

57 the kids

BESIDE OUR UTE IN BELMORE. DAD BUILT THE CANOPY ON THE BACK.

57 urunga ON THE URUNGA FOOTBRIDGE IN THE XMAS HOLIDAYS.

57 xmas

IN GRACE BROS STORE IN SYDNEY AT BROADWAY. SUSAN AND ME.

Leave a Reply

