1968 TEACHERS’ COLLEGE AND HOLIDAYS

image

In 1968 I definitely discovered flavoured lipstick for kissing. If not discovered – then perfected . The skirts grew even shorter and my Mum used to boast that she only need a 1/2 yard of material to make me a skirt. I suntanned and went to Teachers’ College at Balmain. That was a great disappointment – almost all girls. It was a 2 year course . I don’t think University was really within the understanding of my working class family or me – not even with scores which would easily have had me admitted on scholarship. In January, we went, as usual, to Urunga for our holidays. Just north of Coffs Harbour was a zoo called Kumbaingeri. Aboriginal language was just beginning to re-emerge.  I think I must also have drifted away from Len Bennett somewhere in this time.

Leave a Reply

